The Ups and Downs of Living Abroad

Well, in general, I have stayed rather positive on this blog. Now, I would like to be a little more honest about living abroad. Most days are good and normal, you forget that you are actually living abroad. It doesnt bother you when people are speaking in another language and you cant understand.  I am taking  a Dutch course now and slowly understanding more and more.

Then there are the bad days. You are sad because your family, friends, life, etc is so far away. My friends in lab are really supportive, but there is nothing like home. Back in the US, I was so used to being able to pick up a phone and call someone whenever I needed to. Now, I need to set-up appointments on Skype to have a talk. Funny stories or random thoughts no longer are getting passed onto my husband, parents, sisters or friends. I wish I could remember all the great and funny things that have happened to me so I can share them. However, I am also okay with keeping them to myself as it is my journey.

For those out there considering living abroad, remember that you are stronger than you think. Time does move fast, I am already 6 months in and really cant believe it. For my friends and family at home, remember that I still do miss you.

Leave a Reply

