Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum

The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh are two of the most visited places in Amsterdam. Due to limited time, I did not make it to the Anne Frank house. I plan to go there with my husband in September.

The Van Gogh museum was extremely crowded. There was a line of people slowly and methodically moving from one painting to the next. Instead, I would stop and read each of the bulletins with information. I would then walk behind the line of people and stop at a few paintings that pulled me in. I was able to understand and see the transition of Van Gogh looking at a few paintings per room. I wish I would have watched a documentary on him before I went to the museum. You couldnt take pictures in the actual rooms of the museum.

P1020705

The Rijksmuseum is a Dutch national museum that is dedicated to the arts and history in Amsterdam.  These museums ranges from ceramics to dresses. Given the choice between Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, go to Rijksmuseum. Van Gogh is great but the Rijksmuseum has a lot more to see. I was amazed at how many artifacts.

DSCF5456DSCF5535

 

 

Leave a Reply

