The New Lab

Every graduate student in a STEM major knows the importance of the lab environment. I have been very fortunate to have supportive labs in the US and Netherlands.

My new lab is very large compared to my old lab. There are around 20 graduate students, 3-4 post-docs and 4 interns (unpaid co-ops). However, the other graduate students are extremely helpful. Every Monday, the PhDs/post-docs meet to quickly discuss their weekly plans and any issues. The environment of working together to solve issues is very similar to my old lab.

In addition to the help or advice with my own research, they invite me to join them for lunch every day. In my US lab, we usually eat lunches at our desk. In the Netherlands, most people leave their desk and sit in another large room so they can socialize. I look forward to this every day as it allows me to learn more about my new lab mates.

Leave a Reply

