Netherlands Apartment

A few weeks after I recieved my fellowship, I spent days researching the best possible places to live on campus. This year abroad would be my last for my PhD, so I knew I didn’t want to share the apartment. Radbond University has housing set aside specifically for visiting researchers, lecturers, etc. I emailed my contact from the lab I am working in and easily got the housing.

The apartment is 36 m^2 large. The apartment came furnished, with a tv, radio, kitchen w/supplies and bed. It is about the size of my one bedroom apartment in Philadelphia, the biggest difference being a lot less stuff. Once all my things were unpacked, it still seemed larger than my old apartment.

P1010602 P1010613

The apartment comes with a small patio that overlooks a small park. There are trails for running and biking within the park. The one side of the apartment overlooks several sports fields in which I can see soccer, field hockey and rugby being played daily. My favorite part of living in the Netherlands is the fresh air. The campus is surrounded by trees.

P1010604P1010605P1010606

P1010611P1010612

Leave a Reply

